A Day Well Spent

by theadventuresofbeka

I woke up this morning to the realization that I only had a few minutes to get ready to go to church. I enjoyed the service, but the beginning was a bit hazy because I had just woken up. The majority of my day I then spent reading (some of my evening was also spent on physics homework I had forgotten about). After arriving home for spring break, I found in my drawer a large stash of books that I had borrowed and not read. I finished Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell yesterday and today I am reading Blue Like Jazz. Although I don’t agree with everything Donald Miller has to say, he has definitely sparked my brain. Probably my favorite quote from the book so far is this:

“Here is what I have started thinking: All the wonder of God happens right above out arithmetic and formula. The more I climb outside my pat answers, the more invigorating the view, the more my heart enters into worship.” (pg. 203)

And this just made me laugh:
“Here’s a tip I’ve never used: I understand you can learn a great deal about girldom by reading Pride and Prejudice, and I own a copy, but I have never read it. I tried. It was given to me by a girl with a little note inside that read: ‘What is in this book is the heart of a woman’. I am sure the heart of a woman is pure and lovely, but the first chapter of said heart is hopelessly boring. Nobody dies at all. I keep the book on my shelf because girls come into my room, sit on my couch, and eye the books on the adjacent shelf. You have a copy of Pride and Prejudice, they exclaim in a gentle sigh and smile. Yes, I say. Yes, I do.”

