On to Important Things…

by theadventuresofbeka

FOOD. It is what defines us and brings us together (especially for us Italians). Everyone here in Spain asks me if I like the food here. I always respond with an enthusiastic YES. I don’t ask what’s in it but I definitely like it.

One of my favorite distinctly Spanish foods is chorizo (the picture). It is kind of like a cross between sausage and cured meat but not. It is hard to explain but it is delicious (I want to bring it back to the States). This specific piece was made by my host mother’s mother. The pig it was made from lived in a house and ate people food. Talk about quality meat…

We typically eat a first course: zucchini puree, thick lentil soup, salad, pasta, or something similar. The second course is meat. Meat here is cooked similar to meat in the US but the fillets are THIN, a third of what they are at home. If we eat a meal that has eggs (such as eggs, tomato sauce and rice or the Spanish tortilla) it is not served with a second course of meat. And always there is bread. A thick crusty slice of bread is a companion to every lunch and dinner (most snacks too).

