On a Different Note

by theadventuresofbeka

Disclaimer: the previous post is about Spain, this one is about faith so read knowing that :).

I saw something today that referenced that David Crowder was converting to Catholicism. Out of curiosity I did a Google Search. First of all, I found that he has created an album inspired by a Catholic Mass and stated that he is inspired by Catholicism, that’s it. I then stumbled across a site that basically bashes “fake Christians” – David Crowder being one of them.

Now, I am not trying to defend or put down David Crowder here. Honestly most of the commentary below had nothing to do with David himself. I just want to say I was appalled by what I read in the comments below the article. It made me so sad that Christ’s name is being “defended” in such a harsh and judgmental way.

I feel that as a Christian I must balance love, grace, law, and discernment. In talking to a fellow Christian, I am not going to pat him or her on the back and tell him it is okay if he does something that the Bible specifically says is wrong but at the same time, I can agree to disagree with a person if his interpretation is not the same as mine. I also don’t feel like it is my place to verbally attack anyone – on the internet or in person. I don’t have this all right but it was a harsh reminder to me of the importance of my words and my attitude.

And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. 1 Thessalonians 5:14 (NIV)

