theadventuresofbeka

We're all different. Especially him. But there's something kind of fantastic about that, isn't there?

Plastica: Cuarto A

I love teaching art. There is something so wonderful about helping kids create and express themselves. Here are some pictures from a few weeks ago. We were making juggling balls by filling balloons with salt and layering more balloons on top. I teach fourth grade art with our PE teacher so our activities and projects often have a more useful twist to them.

El Colegio

Here are some of the things I have been planning in school. Many of the things I am using were taken from the internet but these are some things I created/modified on my own.

Space Review: This was used with 3rd grade as a test review for their space unit. Jeopardy is a popular game show in the United States and I had used this template before while tutoring in the US. It was a big hit with the kids and it inspired cooperation, teamwork, and English.

My Home: My 5th and 6th graders aren’t always interested in learning English so I am trying to come up with topics that interest them. This is a Powerpoint that I used to show them what my home was like the USA.

Bingo: I used a free Bingo Card Generator to create these cards. This was a review of a lesson we had previously learned: classifying and describing materials. Before we played, I showed the kids (4th grade) pictures of each of the materials to ensure that they understood what materials we were talking about. I would then call out a classification or characteristic of a material and the kids could cover one material that fit into that category.

2012 Summer Olympic Games: This is a Powerpoint I used to introduce the Olympics. Each of the links we followed to watch the videos. This was one of the kids’ favorite topics that we have talked about in all my time here. The pictures at the end are of me (and my mother) and I used them to explain why I loved horseback riding (I’m an equestrian) and gymnastics (my mother was a gymnast).