3 Cities – One Day

by theadventuresofbeka

Sunday
Sarah and I woke up at 4:30AM to catch our 6:30AM flight. By “woke up” I mean turned the lights on and started getting dressed. We hadn’t really slept thanks to the drunks/buses/singing/cars.

Once in Madrid we encountered some rude Spaniards in the airport and eventually figured out where the metro was (this seems to be a common theme for us). We went to the bus station to buy my ticket and leave our luggage. We then set out to explore the city.

This is one of the first things I saw in Madrid – reminiscent of home.

I saw quite a few sculptures of men on horses.

These pictures of us give a sense of scale.

In the park there was a man with a huge bubble maker. The joy on the kids’ faces was priceless.

This dog was posing for a photo shoot and I couldn’t resist taking a picture of him.

I thought this was an interesting way to make construction a bit more attractive.

A couple trying to take a picture – they were across the street which is why I didn’t offer to take it for them.

 

Madrid is a city for tourists, at least the area we were in. Everywhere there were people selling things.

There was also a lot of political activity.

This scarf was one of the best $7 Forever 21 purchases I have ever made.

Mickey and Minnie, what are you doing in Madrid?

This thing was terrifying. There was a person in it so it moved its head and flapped its jaw.

Unlike Aguilar, I saw a lot of homeless people in Madrid, begging in the streets or on the metro.

We ate in the Plaza Mayor (which you can see in Sarah’s glasses).

I almost didn’t include a picture of this – alcohol is cheap in Spain but apparently when you buy sangria at a tourist restaurant they charge you exorbitant amounts. I was so ticked that I didn’t think to ask how much it was.

This is to emphasize that we ate lunch at an American time.

I learned a new word, sabroso which means tasty.

El Palacio Real.

This is not Spain’s prettiest cathedral in my opinion.

The guy who took this picture knew how to use my camera but was confused as to why I wanted a picture of our faces.

A little bit of Madrid.

After exploring Madrid we went back to the bus station by metro and took our buses home. When I got to Palencia I realized that because it was Sunday, the bus wasn’t running so I went to the train station. After waiting 45 minutes for my train to arrive (it was running late), the station announced that all trains were cancelled. At about the same time I ran out of minutes on my phone. Momentary panic and then I got to work. I found a pay phone and called my host mother to inform her of my plans. I checked the times for the buses to Aguilar for Monday morning. I then pulled out money and got myself a hotel. I didn’t even eat dinner; I was so exhausted. I woke up at 6AM Monday morning to catch a bus to Aguilar so that I could go home and get my school books.

I managed to see and do quite a bit this weekend and it took me until Wednesday to no longer feel tired from it. Lessons learned: keep more money on my phone and try to take a more direct route back to Aguilar.

