El Museo Sorolla

by theadventuresofbeka

Based on multiple recommendations, I decided to visit the Museo Sorolla instead of the Prado. It is a decision I don’t regret. The museum was in the house where he lived. Sorolla is now one of my favorite painters. I was very touched by how many of his paintings were of his wife and children.

NOTE: All artwork in this post is Sorolla’s.

He painted and designed pottery.

He was assisting for a photo shoot that was going on in the garden.

Springtime is finally really here.

One of his self-portraits.

I loved his use of light in this one.

Sorolla is most famous for his paintings.

He was also a sculptor.

His paint box.

Sorolla died before finishing this painting.

I had to take a break in the garden. There were so many paintings and I wanted to truly enjoy all of them.

His numerous paintings and sketches of his wife showed how much he loved her and enjoyed looking at her (which means a lot from an artist).

Yet another portrait of his wife.

