Rest

by theadventuresofbeka

Rest by theadventuresofbeka
Rest, a photo by theadventuresofbeka on Flickr.

I decided to truly take a Sabbath this week. I finished all my homework by Saturday night. Sunday, I didn’t look at a single to-do list, nor did I study. Instead, I rested. I went to church. I went grocery shopping (yes, I find that relaxing). I also wandered around downtown Atlanta, taking photos.

One of my goals for this semester is to learn to rest. Rest is more than just sleep. It is purposefully taking time to not worry and stop DOING. It is time to wander streets or curl up on the couch with ice cream and a book without guilt.

I can sometimes become so wrapped up in my goals and my efforts that I forget to enjoy and breathe. I have a few friends who set aside one day a week to rest and do so consistently, and I have always admired them for this. I’m hoping to be able to manage my time and prioritize so that I can do the same.

I encourage you to take some time to rest (whether or not you are religious). You will find it does wonders for your productivity ;). But seriously, sometimes we miss the beauty of the moment, because we are too busy trying to get somewhere or accomplish something.