A Valentine’s Day Letter

by theadventuresofbeka

Dear Peter,

I have to start out by saying that I know you have a wife/girlfriend (I’m not quite sure what she is at this point in your world), and I am in no way trying to encourage you to cheat on her. I highly doubt you will ever read this. Even if you do, you would probably just find it creepy, because we haven’t ever met in person. I just have to write this, because as they say, you will only regret the things you don’t do. Also, it’s Valentine’s Day, so it’s that day of the year to confess unrequited love. I would send you flowers, but I doubt that they would actually get to you.

I’m sure you’ve heard this a million times before, but the truth is, I liked you before you got abs and social skills and attention. I liked your glasses and the way your cared for your aunt and uncle. I appreciated how awkward you were. I’m awkward too, so I felt like we’d get along rather well. Also, any guy that studies for fun is attractive in my book. You were quirky and although you, like everyone else, longed for popularity, you didn’t compromise who you were. You were loyal to your friends even when they or their family members went crazy and tried to kill you. You showed a lot of maturity for a teenage boy. When your uncle died, my heart went out to you. I wish I could have been there to listen and sympathize. I was so proud of you when you gathered the shattered pieces of your life together and decided to move forward.

I appreciate that you care. I think everyone has a conscience, but you take yours seriously. The way you care for your aunt and protect those you love and those you don’t even know is heartwarming. You are so endearing, yet you are also utterly hilarious. You wit and sarcasm are spot on. You have a knack for not taking life too seriously while still making honorable choices. Most girls are attracted to guys similar to their fathers, and I would say this is one way I am a “typical” girl. I see many of these same traits in my own dad. It helps that he is the one who pointed you out to me. I know that I would make him proud if I brought a guy like you home. (If I ever brought you home, he’d definitely ask for your autograph).

I hope that you don’t take this the wrong way. Mary Jane is the perfect girl for you, and I honestly don’t think my sanity could take the whole “my significant other is a superhero who has near death experiences on a regular basis” thing. You are just a really great guy, and I wanted you to know that. Keep doing what you’re doing and inspiring the rest of us to do the same.

Affectionately,

Beka

