I’m a No-Pooer

by theadventuresofbeka

This post has nothing to do with poop or pooping. I apologize if this disappoints you. 

I am a crunchy-gluten-free-all-natural-organic-yoga-practicing individual. I am also notoriously cheap when it comes to spending money on myself. I spend a lot of money on bathing suits and lingerie and not much else.

This means that I find buying organic all-natural shampoo highly offensive. I have always found shampoo expensive, even when I bought the cheap stuff, because I have long, thick hair. A “dime-sized” amount is not going to cut it for me, so I go through shampoo much faster than your average woman who doesn’t get compared to Cousin Itt on a regular basis.

I have some photos of me that look very similar to this.

Unfortunately, I can’t “compromise” when it comes to shampoo, because I have extremely sensitive skin and an overactive conscience. Thankfully, my mother found a solution on the internet: no pooing. Since she shared this discovery with me six years ago, I have been practicing the art of no poo. Every once in a while, I get lazy and return to washing my hair like normal people. Since my status in my family has recently been downgraded upgraded to “graduate student who always buys her own shampoo”, the financial burden of buying overpriced shampoo is now completely my own. This has motivated me to regularly no poo, and I have to admit that I am glad my stinginess has forced me to stick with it.

So, what is no pooing? Basically, you use a baking soda scrub and an apple cider vinegar rinse in lieu of shampoo and conditioner. It is all natural, and more importantly, it is dirt cheap without being dirty. Here are the main things I have learned along the way:

  • There is a transition period. Switching from shampoo to baking soda and apple cider vinegar, your hair will be greasy the first few weeks. If greasy hair is not your thing, transition during a time when you can wear your hair up or hide it with a hat.
  • You don’t need to wash your hair every day. For me, I have to wash every 3-6 days. I wash when my hair begins to feel greasy. I prefer to wait until my hair actually feels greasy for two reasons. 1) I am lazy. 2) The grease helps when you go to scrub the baking soda down to your scalp.
  • On the days you don’t wash, scrub anyways. Scrub your scalp while in the shower in the same way that you would with shampoo. This helps distribute oil and remove dirt. Also, it feels good.
  • Find the amount of baking soda that works for you. The same goes for the apple cider vinegar. I use about 2-4 tbsp. of baking soda in 10-12 oz. of hot water (remember, I have lots of hair). I keep a plastic tupperware in the shower. Right before my shower, I dump in the baking soda. Right before I want to wash my hair, I add hot water to the tupperware and swirl it around. I then slowly pour the liquid onto my scalp and scrub it in. After I rinse, I put 6 oz. apple cider vinegar and 6 oz. water of water in my hair, scrub it in, and rinse again.
  • It’s not foamy. You can’t make fancy shampoo hair styles anymore. Get over it. This is my only complaint about the process.

I miss this.

  • Don’t get the apple cider vinegar in your eyes. It hurts. A lot. 

When my hair is still wet, it sometimes smells faintly of vinegar, but once it has dried, it smells like normal, clean hair. Other people often smell and touch my hair because they don’t believe that my hair doesn’t smell funny (it doesn’t). I no longer have dandruff or an itchy scalp, and my hair is always healthy*. My hair is also less frizzy when I no poo, even when I am in the 99% humidity that is FL weather.

As much as I miss the foamy beehive shampoo styles that I used to model in the shower, I love what no pooing has done for my hair. I can definitely feel the difference, AND I’m saving money.

Saving money is always good. $15 shampoo is not.

*I have good hair genes and I don’t style with heat or products, so I can’t say that the health of my hair is 100% because I don’t use shampoo.

