I’m a Terrible American

by theadventuresofbeka

Living in a foreign country (again) has reminded me of how many ways in which I don’t fit a lot of what is expected of Americans. Here are a few of them:

  1. I don’t like McDonald’s. I don’t even eat McDonald’s in the USA. I definitely don’t want to visit the [insert current location] version of it.
  2. I don’t miss “American” food, because my diet is primarily whole foods which can be found anywhere that I’ve traveled.
  3. I’m not fat. (See #1). I’m also not blonde or tan despite the fact that I am from Florida.
  4. I oftentimes don’t agree with the stereotypes that most other Americans are said to believe. I know that not all of Spain is about flamenco, I don’t assume all people of Middle Eastern descent are potential terrorists, and I’m not worried about cocaine dealers in Colombia. I also understand that not all Spanish speakers are Mexican.
  5. I’m not rich. It’s actually pretty discouraging how little money I have left in my American bank account. At least half of my income in Colombia is going towards rebuilding a small amount of savings so that I can afford to move again and go back to school to finish my degree.
  6. I didn’t pay a lot of money for my Iphone (See #5). It came with the contract for $0.99.
  7. I’m not interested in cheating on my boyfriend. Period. The fact that I live thousands of miles away from him does not change this.
  8. I know almost nothing about celebrities, American or not.
  9. I don’t drink that much. I’ve never been drunk and being in a foreign country has not made me suddenly interested in doing so.
  10. Partying is never one of my main goals in life. I’ll go to parties occasionally, but I’m never the one to close them down, nor will I seek them out.
  11. I’m not interested in sleeping with people. This would be the same even if I didn’t have a boyfriend.
  12. I don’t watch the Simpsons, Jersey Shore, Family Guy or pretty much anything at all for that matter.
  13. I am not a Republican or a Democrat. I neither hate nor love our current president.
  14. My family is really important to me, and I miss them a lot.
  15. I’m not all that interesting. I’m a homebody, wherever that “home” may be. I also really like sleeping.
