A List of Sorts

by theadventuresofbeka

As I’m starting to count down to how many days are left until I see my family, I’m avoiding thinking about leaving Colombia. This always happens when I make big changes in my life. There are a lot of things I’m really looking forward to, but there are also a lot of things I’m going to really miss.

What I’m looking forward to

  • FOOD – I’m going to gain weight when I go back, and I am perfectly content with that.
    • having restaurants know what gluten free is, so I can eat out without worrying about getting sick
    • gluten free products: beer, bagels, pizza, all the things that can be made with bread such as grilled cheese, deli sandwiches and French toast
    • raspberries
    • sushi
    • Indian food
    • cheese that is not soft, white and bland
    • black olives that don’t cost a fortune
    • ice cream at Big Olaf’s on Siesta Key
  • Coffee shops – the culture and the coffee. Although the coffee here is of a high quality, it is watered down in comparison to what I am accustomed to.
  • Races – I was running a race a month when I lived in Atlanta, but I cannot find that many races here.
  • Running at a reasonable altitude – 9,000 feet (2,800 meters) is NOT an acceptable altitude
  • Yoga classes – I only recently found out that they do exist here, and it’s kind of too late to pay for a membership. It’s also way to cold to practice comfortably in my house.
  • Hot weather – when I get back to FL, summer will be in full swing.
  • The beach
  • Knowing what is culturally appropriate in all situations – sometimes I’m still confused as to what I should do or how I should act.
  • A direct communication style
  • Being long distance instead of really long distance with B and being able to see him more often than once every six months
  • My family and friends (seriously, I’m so excited to see these boys)

It was a lovely morning with two of my favorite boys at Siesta Key.

A post shared by Rebekah Callari-Kaczmarczyk (@theadventuresofbeka) on

What I’m going to miss

  • Food
    • Arequipe – Colombian caramel
    • A constant supply of freshly made arepas
    • Fresh, delicious produce
    • Being able to afford as much produce as I want in a week
    • All the fruits that I won’t be able to find in the US and the juices they make with them
    • The freshly made limeade that is so easy to find here
    • The Mexican restaurant I always go to
    • Fresh eggs that are cheap
  • The mountains – I hate the altitude but these mountains are so beautiful

More of Monguí.

A post shared by Rebekah Callari-Kaczmarczyk (@theadventuresofbeka) on

  • Having money to travel
  • My students
  • The friends I have made here
  • The sweet boys at the coffee place I always go to who greet me by name and ask me about my life
  • Making well above a living wage – I’m going back to being a student next year.
  • Speaking Spanish all the time
  • Not ever having to drive and having everything I need or do be within walking distance
  • Fantastic medical insurance
  • Never having temperatures below freezing
